Welcome to Discuss Truth forums!

Would you like to join in discussion? Click here to sign up and become a part of our community today!

Online Education

Discussion in 'Other' started by Jason76, Aug 25, 2015.

1. Jason76 Cat Moderator

Wouldn't education that's totally online, even without any in-class tests, be inferior? How about classes that have only in-class tests? Myself, I see nothing wrong with those. However, in the real world, a lot of jobs require you to go to an actual workplace, so maybe your not getting adequete training.

2. jimbob Cat Moderator

Many different points of view regarding this. In many aspects of my life I am self-taught. In other areas I have needed assistance. I suppose it depends on the naturalness of what we are trying to learn.

3. KenBrace Bird Administrator

It also depends on the individual. Some people learn better in the comfort of home while others do better with a real life instructor.

I'm somewhat in between. I don't want to do all of my work at a building but I also don't want everything to be online. I think an even mixture of live classes plus online work is best.

Selena likes this.
  4. Quality Checked Bird Moderator

The experience with online coursework has been mixed, so I've heard. I'm not citing studies here... just memory of what I've read...

The completion rate of MOOCs - massive online open courses - has been poor. However, these tend to be free and open, so most students are venturing nothing upfront. Some students are taking the course for credit (possibly paying too) and they tend to finish. The performance of commercial on-line degree programs is... so so. Since these are money-making businesses, there is no incentive on the part of the so called on-line universities (like Kaplan University) to incentivize students to complete the courses on time. If students don't complete, they pay extra.